Ch-Ch-Changes
🕑 Added 2018-08-01 19:58:18 +0000 UTC Patreon has recently allowed artists to start charging new Patrons up front. I've turned on this feature.Why is this important?
Because billing happens on the first of the month, there has been rampant abuse of the system where people will sign up for a day or two, download whatever they want, and then cancel their pledge.
I catch these people very quickly, because every time you pledge or change your pledge, I'm notified. This usually results in me messaging the person and/or banning them.
Now as soon as you choose a tier, you are charged for that tier. You can then enjoy the content, but if you change back or cancel, you will not be charged less (or have your authorization dropped).
THIS IS HUGE, and a source of previous major stress.
Please continue enjoying content (like the video posted last night for some members), and know that I appreciate you more than words can say. THANK YOU.
Love,
Brandon
Comments
Kataklizmic Design
Smart move! I enabled that as well when it became an option! I'm sorry people did that to you... they can be such shit. ~ Katherine
Brandon McGill
RIGHT!? Finally! <3 <3
Matt Kulisch
Totally just signed up for this myself, on my page. So smart! And I'm glad they finally included it.
Brandon McGill
And this is much more fair to the artist
Great idea! I was curious about this option as it didn't seem very friendly to artists by not charging up front. Then again, that is what a "pledge" is.
Brandon McGill
The first of the month is when billing still happens, this only impacts people signing up in the middle of the month. Right now they have processed about 7% of my Patrons for the month (and I have some declines to follow up on).
John Allard-Lawson
Do the recurring payments still happen the first of each month? Just wondering because I have not yet seen a payment processed for this month.
Brandon McGill
Also from Patreon's FAQ: Q: What happens if an existing patron decreases their pledge amount? A: Patrons who decrease their pledge amount will be charged the new amount on the 1st of the month. They will not be refunded anything.